Each year, the official Lay Delegate Count is prepared, according to the diocesan Constitution and Canons*, and in November the Rev. Chris Caddell, Diocesan Secretary, will send clergy or wardens in charge of congregations an email with the number of delegates each congregation is authorized to send to the upcoming diocesan Council. This message will also include the Lay Delegate Certification Form and instructions for submitting it.

Completed Lay Delegate Certification Forms for Council 2020 must be sent to three locations, by February 1, 2020:

  • one copy to the Bishop’s Office
    mail to:
    Episcopal Diocese of West Texas; Attn: Leigh Saunders; P.O. Box 6885; San Antonio, TX 78209, or
    email to: leigh.saunders@dwtx.org, or
    fax to: (210) 824-1312
  • one copy to the office of the Diocesan Secretary
    mail to: the Rev. Chris Caddell; Attn: Council 2020 Certification; 301 Hays County Acres Road; Dripping Springs, TX 78620-4282, or
    email to: rector@dsholyspirit.org
  • one copy to the Council Registration Host Church
    mail to: The Rev. Jonathan Wickham; Attn: Council 2020 Certification; 3016 S Staples Street; San Antonio, TX 78404-3610, or
    email to: jonathan@allsaints-cc.org

*According to the Constitution and Canons of the Episcopal Diocese of West Texas, “lay delegates and alternates shall be men or women communicants of the congregation which they represent, in good standing,” and “each congregation, in union with the Council, shall be entitled to one delegate for every 50 persons, or portion thereof, reported for Average Sunday Attendance (ASA) in the Annual Parochial Report” (Canon 1, section 1b). The canon continues to say that every mission or parish is entitled to at least 2 delegates and 2 alternates, regardless of ASA, and parishes are entitled to 1 additional delegate and alternate.

%d bloggers like this: