Standing Committee

Current Standing Committee members.

The Standing Committee serves as a Council of Advice to the diocesan bishop, meeting approximately three times each year, and is composed of six people (three clergy members and three lay people).  Among its responsibilities are granting or withholding consents to the election of bishops throughout the Episcopal Church as well as interviewing seminarians and recommending to the bishop whether or not they be made candidates for ordination.

In the event that the office of bishop is vacant, the Standing Committee serves as the Ecclesiastical authority for the diocese. Individuals serving on the Standing Committee should be familiar with the Constitution and Canons of the diocese and The Episcopal Church, be aware of issues in the wider Anglican Communion, and be willing to undertake a wide range of leadership needs and discernment.

Diocesan Council 2020 will elect one cleric and one lay person to serve a three-year term.  Retiring incumbents are ineligible.

Description of Duties from the Diocesan Constitution and Canons.

  • Article IV – Constitution & Canons of the General Convention
  • Article V, Canon 3  – Constitution & Canons of the Diocese of West Texas
%d bloggers like this: