Standing Committee

One cleric and one lay person to be elected for a three-year term.  Retiring incumbents, the Rev. Lisa Mason and Mrs. Mary Katherine Duffy are not eligible.

Description of duties: The Standing Committee meets about three times a year and serves as a Council of Advice to the diocesan bishop.  Among its responsibilities are granting or withholding consents to the election of bishops throughout the Episcopal Church and interviewing seminarians and recommending to the bishop whether or not they be made candidates for ordination. The Standing Committee is composed of 6 persons, 3 clergy and 3 lay. In the event that the office of bishop is vacant, the Standing Committee serves as the Ecclesiastical authority for the diocese. Persons serving on the Standing Committee should be familiar with the Constitution and Canons, aware of issues in the wider Anglican Communion, and be persons who are willing to undertake a wide range of leadership needs and discernment.

Description of Duties (On

  • Article IV – Constitution & Canons of the General Convention
  • Article V, Canon 3  – Constitution & Canons of the Diocese of West Texas

Current Members Church Term ends
The Rev. Paul Frey Christ Church, Laredo 2020
Mr. Curt Mowen St. Luke’s, San Antonio 2020
The Rev. Michael Marsh St. Philip’s, Uvalde 2019
Mrs. Elizabeth Nisbet Good Shepherd, Corpus Christi 2019
* The Rev. Lisa Mason St. David’s, San Antonio 2018
* Mrs. Mary Katherine Duffy EditSt. Alban’s, Harlingen 2018

* Incumbents are not eligible for re-election

2018 Nominees listed below. Download here. is a website allowing free storage of documents.  Use their command buttons to View Fullscreen for online reading, Print or Download the full packet when available.

The nomination information packet e-mailed to clergy and wardens in August 2017 along with the full Nomination Committee Report 2018 is available on the Nomination page.

Episcopal Diocese of West Texas

%d bloggers like this: