Deputies & Alternate Deputies to General Convention

Four clergy persons and four lay persons, to be elected as Deputies, and four clergy persons and four lay persons to be elected as Alternate Deputies.  All nominees must be confirmed communicants in good standing. Retiring incumbents The Revs. Scott Brown, Ripp Hardaway, Lisa Mason, David Read, Jennifer Brooke-Davidson, Paul Frey, Ben Nelson, Joann Saylors, and Mrs. Alice Ann Fischer, Ms. Carrie Guerra, Mrs. Kelley Kimble, Mr. Rob Schneider, Mr. Roger Grapham, Mrs. Sharon Neukam, Mr. John Warren and Mrs. Jennifer Wickham are eligible.

Description of duties: As voting representatives of the diocese attend General Convention in the summer of 2018.

Constitution and Canons of the General Convention

Title I, Canon 1, Section 4

(a) All jurisdictions of this Church entitled by the Constitution or Canons to choose Deputies to the General Convention shall be required to do so no later than twelve months preceding the opening date of the General Convention for which they are chosen.  Deputies of jurisdictions failing so to elect may not be seated unless permitted by ruling of the Presiding Officer.

(b) It shall be the duty of each seated Deputy to communicate to the electing jurisdiction the actions taken and the positions established by the General Convention.

(c) It shall be the responsibility of each Diocese to provide a forum in which the Deputies to the General Convention from that jurisdiction have opportunity to report.

Also see (On

  • Canon 9, Section 4 – Constitution and Canons of the Diocese of West Texas


Current Members Church Position & Term ends
The Rev. Scott Brown St. Alban’s, Harlingen Deputy 2017
Mrs. Alice Ann Fischer Good Shepherd, Corpus Christi Deputy 2017
Ms. Carrie Guerra St. John’s, McAllen Deputy 2017
The Rev. Ripp Hardaway St. John’s, New Braunfels Deputy 2017
Mrs. Kelley Kimble St. Philip’s, Uvalde Deputy 2017
The Rev. Lisa Mason St. David’s, San Antonio Deputy 2017
The Rev. David Read St. Luke’s, San Antonio Deputy 2017
Mr. Rob Schneider Holy Spirit, Dripping Springs Deputy 2017
The Rev. Jennifer Brooke-Davidson St. Elizabeth’s, Buda Alternate 2017
The Rev. Paul Frey Christ Church, Laredo Alternate 2017
Mr. Roger Graham St. Andrew’s, San Antonio Alternate 2017
The Rev. Ben Nelson St. Mark’s, San Marcos Alternate 2017
Mrs. Sharon Neukam  St. Stephen’s, Wimberley Alternate 2017
The Rev. Joann Saylors  The Diocese of West Texas Alternate 2017
Mr. John Warren  Good Shepherd, Corpus Christi Alternate 2017
Mrs. Jennifer Wickham  All Saints, Corpus Christi Alternate 2017
2017 Nominees listed below. Download here. is a website allowing free storage of documents.  Use their command buttons to View Fullscreen for online reading, Print or Download the full packet when available.

The nomination information packet e-mailed to clergy and wardens in August 2016 is available on the Nomination page.  The full report is also available on the Nomination page.

Episcopal Diocese of West Texas

%d bloggers like this: